Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, with the skyrocketing development of technology, the past decades have witnessed huge progress of the society. While this brings about increasing living standards, some may argue that it also gives birth to some rules, which are too strict for young people to follow. However, I do not agree with this opinion. From my perspective, it is beneficial for young people to follow these rules, since they help the youth to develop good behaviors and also protect them from potential dangers.

To begin with, the current rules help to keep young people on the right track. To be more specific, in today's sophisticated world, every now and then, young people are susceptible to diverting from the right path to a place where they are far from success. By making even a couple of decisions erroneously, their whole future might go to waste. In this vein, setting rules can teach them the best way of life and thus keep them on the right track. For example, in Shanghai, there are many middle and high schools where many specific rules are set, like wearing uniforms etc. Seemingly unnecessary for students to buy uniforms, it frees them from worrying their clothes, so they can be more focused more on academic work.

Furthermore, these rules can benefit the society as a whole. Rules and regulations are made by the authorities to let society run in an orderly way, without which the society or country will fall in a turmoil. Hence, it is universally acknowledged that abiding by the regulations contributes to the maintenance of the society order. Namely, if everybody follows the regulations, then the society will become more harmonious. Relationships and family bonds will become tighter, and the workflows in factories and companies will become smoother. Thus, well-being and satisfaction can be truly bettered, therefore doing good to everyone. For example, a man who obeys the regulations of his company will help the company to make more united efforts, so more achievements can be made. In return, he can gain more recognition which promises him a brighter future.

However, some rules impose unnecessary restrain on the young generation. There does exist some regulations, like students have to follow a certain answering patterns in order to gain the points in exams. With higher points, they can be admitted to their ideal academies. This may curb their creativity and imagination in some way. Nonetheless, the solution to this problem is not acting against the rules. Only by trials and errors, will the regulations system become better in the future.

In a nutshell, the merits of obeying rules prevail over the demerits. Therefore, I suppose the rules that current society expects the young people to follow are not too strict, as they can keep the youth on the right track and help to maintain the society order.