Some people think that the main purpose of school is to turn children as good citizens and workers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, with the proliferation of quality education and skyrocketing development of technology, more and more people can be better educated. In terms of the school's function, some contend that schools are mainly supposed to cultivate good citizens and workers. However, I cast doubt on this statement, in that the main purpose of schools is to impart knowledge and it is the parents that should take the responsibility.

Schools are places where students absorb knowledge. It is universally acknowledged that teachers should impart the knowledge of different subjects, but most of the subjects are limited to basic ones, like Math, Linguistics, Science etc. These subjects can tell the students how the world works. Take Science as an example. It helps to explain how the system of the nature specifically work to sustain the all the living creatures. Nevertheless, the standard of a “good” citizen is that he or she behaves well and abide by the laws. Meanwhile, a “good” worker is someone who follows his or her duty and make contributions at work. Apparently, those subjects like Science are not intended to teach students how to become good citizens and workers. All these popular courses in most fundamental education systems are designed to make them more informed of the society, the world and the whole universe.

Furthermore, it is the family's responsibility to teach children how to become a well-behaved citizen in the future. It is well-known that children are parents in miniature. For most children, according to scientific studies, their behavior patterns are more likely to follow those of the parents or other family members, because children stay with family members for much longer time. Teachers are not who stay with the children for the most of the time, compared to their parents or other family members. Also, the children may go to different schools or academies as they grow up. Hence, teachers or other teaching staff are not to blame for the behavioral and moral education, if one of the students does not become a good citizen or worker.

As a matter of fact, there still can be some moral courses in schools. For example, it is very common in most primary schools and middle schools in Shanghai that students have to pass the moral and behavioral exams to successfully graduate. Even for tertiary-level education like colleges, the students there still have moral course, which tells us how to become a truly mature adult rather than to stay childish. Hence, we can tell that even though it is not the main responsibility for the schools to foster the children's citizenship quality, many schools are trying to make up for what parents may lack in their children's moral and behavioral education.

From what I have explained above, we can safely arrive at the conclusion that school's main purpose is not to make students potentially good citizens and workers, but to equip them with affluent knowledge that may benefit them for the whole life. Also, the main burden should fall on the family, especially parents, to educate their children how to become socially responsible, to behave well and to become a good worker.