books and films can help one learn a lot from others

With the development of society and economy, things for amusement proliferate tremendously. Meanwhile, people have more time and money to have fun in their spare time. Hence, the types of books and movies that people enjoy are much more various these days. And when it comes to whether the books and films can help one learn a lot from others, people have no consensus. Some assert that we can by doing so, while others refute with a diametrically different view. For me, I am for the former.

To begin with, books and movies people tend to enjoy can, to some extent, reflect their personalities. Human beings are clever. We often choose to do things that are prone to make the situation favorable for us or just enlighten us. There is no exception for books and movies. Imagine if you dislike a kind of films, will you watch them yourself? The answer is obviously not. People love to watch movies and read books that conform to their taste. And people’s taste for movies and books are the mirror of their hearts and personalities. Take films to illustrate. If you love action movies, maybe you are a tough guy with a strong will. Or if you like love stories, maybe you are soft in the depth of your heart. As the old saying goes, ‘We are what we eat.’ It is exactly the same for books and movies.

Furthermore, the type of the most liked books or movies can showcase the mindset of people, or even their culture basis and background. During the process of reading, it is prone that we focus more on the books that share the similar thinking way with us, since it makes our reading experience way easier and more enjoyable. According to a survey issued by a famous institution in Philadelphia, human kinds love to strike a chord with the authors when reading, not to mention movies. This namely implies that people tend to read books or watch films of the same mindset. At the meantime, one’s thinking method also mirrors his origin, as different cultural background leads to different mindsets. As a result, we can, in turn, figure out how a person thinks by the books he or she has read. ‘If we encounter a man of rare intellect, we should ask him what books he reads.’ Just as Ralph Waldo Emerson once expressed, the books one read are closely concerned with his or her mind. Although refuters may insist that scientists also read love stories, still we are talking about the majority and this truly holds for the masses.

In a nutshell, we can truly learn much from the book and movie lists of people. The lists not only indicate our personalities, but also imply our mindsets or even cultural roots. Possible as the existence of counterexamples is, we still can figure out all the above for the majority.