Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When doing research, it is better to use printed material like books and articles than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons or answers to support your statement

Personally, I would like to agree with the notion that printed materials such as books and articles are better means to research than the internet. I believe in this notion because printed materials are more integral and reliable than the internet resources. Let us discuss the same in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, printed materials are much more reliable and well researched than internet resources. This is because internet articles often lack research and also fail to provide the source of their information. My personal experience is a perfect illustration for this. While researching for my bachelor’s thesis paper, I read numerous research articles and blogs as a part of my review of literature. I found most internet articles to contain information that are either outdated or lacking in integrity. This proves that the internet as a source of information is not reliable.

Secondly, Most institutions do not accept internet articles or web encyclopaedias as a source of information for your assignments or thesis paper. For instance, My faculty refused to accept wikipedia or internet articles as a part of my bibliography for my Bachelor’s thesis. They believed that internet articles are not proper sources of information, and including information from such sources could make my work invalid. Thus, we can learn that not all institutions accept the internet as a reference.

Furthermore, Printed materials are generally well researched and beneficial for a researcher. For example, when I researched for my assignments, I found printed material to have additional insightful information like case studies and examples that can be helpful for a researcher to understand their topic. I was able to have a deeper understanding of the foundational concepts of my research topic. On the other hand, Internet articles are generally precise and brief.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that printed materials are much better for research than the Internet. This is because printed materials are much more reliable, academically acceptable and detailed.