Some feel that governments should prioritize healthcare instead of other important areas.
To what extent do you agree or disagree?
Numerous advancements have been made in the field of Medicine in modern times. Many are of the
belief that healthcare must be given the utmost priority when compared to the other areas of the
government. This essay agrees with this notion as healthcare is a basic human right and the quality
of many public hospitals that are currently being run is extremely dismal.
The primary reason for people to hold such a belief is the fact that all people are born with inherent
human rights. Medical assistance is often excessively priced, preventing many from accessing them.
This is a necessity and not a luxury, which is required for individuals from various socio-economic
backgrounds. This not only includes physiological care but also, that of a psychological one. Take, for
instance, the free healthcare awarded to the citizens of Canada by the government. This ensures
that every person has equal opportunities to receive the care they require.
Another cause for the requirement of the government to prioritize the needs of the health care
system is the lack of high quality and efficient hospitals. Many public institutes lack the required
funds to adequately pay for and retain highly qualified staff and technologies, and are also unable to
maintain a fully sanitized environment. This leads to a drop in the number of patients willing to use
their services, which further leads to a lack in financials.
In conclusion, people call for action to be taken by the government in health care services due to the
rights of the common man to live a healthy life and the terrible state of public hospitals. If the
government was to allocate more funds and prioritize the health care system, the country and its
citizens will benefit immensely.