Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People spend too much money on their pets even though there can be other good ways to spend the money.

With the skyrocketing development of economy, people nowadays are endowed with better conditions to enjoy their life, and raising pets are gaining more and more popularity among the public. However, some critics contend that people are spending too much on their pets, and there can be some other good approaches to spend their money. Personally speaking, I disagree with this statement, since raising pets helps to improve health and socialize more.

To begin with, keeping pets contributs to one's mental status and physical fitness. Currently speaking, with the acceleration of urbanization, people are more apt to live in big cities rather than small ones. This brings about fast-paced life styles, so we are tremendously busier than past days. With tons of stuff to cope with at work, it is more reasonable to pursue something relaxing and soothing in the spare time. Pets can just provide such opportunities. Take dogs as examples. They can keep us company when we are back from work, thereby greatly alleviating the stress and rendering their wordless consolidation. Also, it is the owners' responsibilities to take dogs out for walks, which contributes to their physical health. In this way, they can have a healthier leisure time, instead of just staying at home to surf the Internet. Hence, we can see that keeping a pet really deserve that much attention, and it will pay off for the owner to spend money on their pets, owing to the fact that their pets can give them emotional support and contribute to their good physical condition.

Furthermore, pets endue their owners more opportunities to socialize. To be honest, it is very common for people nowadays to use cellphones and computers, hence inducing more chances for people with the same kind of pets to communicate with one another. Also, they are willing to share their happiness of keeping pets with those who do not. It is estimated that pets-relating contents are taking a pivotal role on social and streaming media, such as YouTube and Instagram. Therefore, keeping pets can facilitate to enlarge their owners' social circles and develop better interpersonal skills. As a result, these can all make the owners feel satisfied about what they have spent on their pets. Namely, spending money on their pets give them more valuable things that money cannot buy directly, and this further contributes to their emotional bonds with their pets.

As a matter of fact, spending overwhelmingly much money on pets can have detrimental consequences. Some pet owners are far beyond what is proper for their own financial capabilities. For example, some people might just want to give the best to their pets but did not manage their finance well. They were way too lavish on their pets that one day they got economically straitened and just gave their pets away, or even worse, left their pets to stray on the streets. This is extremely undesirable for both the pet keepers and all the others in society, since the stray animals can pose a threat to human beings.

Judging from what have mentioned above, we can safely arrive at the conclusion that spending money on pets do help to improve mental and physical health as well as to socialize and build more relationships. Meanwhile, we should also be alert not to spend money beyond what we can afford. In this sense, we can truly obtain the well-being in life.