Which one do you think has the greatest impact on protecting the environment? Government regulation, organizations, or individual efforts.

It is no doubt that nowadays people put more emphasis on protecting the environment. However, we don’t have an agreement regarding who should lead people to protect the environment. Should the government set it a rule requiring people to follow certain rules? Do organizations or individual efforts provide a better result? From my perspective, the government has the greatest impact on protecting the environment.

In the first place, only government is able to provide facilities necessary for protecting the environment. With the proper facility, it is possible for people to change their original behave. For example, twenty years ago, our mayor began to set up beautiful recycle bins in every park and encouraged people to reduce the amount of the garbage by recycling them in those bins. People found them interesting so soon after the bins were set, recycle became a well-adapted concept. Nevertheless, organizations and individual efforts do not have the power to provide and set the facilities. As a result, they do not make impacts like the government does.

In addition, only government has the power to provide various educational programs to the public regarding protecting the environment. To be more specific, the government can ask schools to teach kids about protecting the earth. Also, it can increase the awareness of protecting the environment by posting notices on TV or on road signs. In contrast, although organizations can also provide educational programs, they have limited resources and outreach to thrive their programs. Not to mention, an individual is not capable of conducting big educational projects. Consequently, the government makes the greatest impact because it is able to provide numerous educational programs to a wide range of people.

Last but not least, the government has the authority to make it a rule and force people to follow the rules. For example, to reduce the amount of plastic bags which harm the environment, our government prohibits stores from giving free plastic bags. People have to pay to get the plastic bags. Furthermore, if anyone breaks the law, the person will be fined with a big penalty. The policy works well and many people bring their fabric bags to shop now. However, organizations and individuals have no such authority to influence people.

In conclusion, I believe the government has the greatest power to influence people to protect the environment. It is able to provide necessary facilities and education to the public in order to increase the awareness. Moreover, it owns the power to force people to follow the policy to protect the Earth. Neither organization nor individual can achieve them.