Which one of the following do you think is the most important thing that parents should teach their children?

- Being helpful to others

- Being honest

- Being well organized

Some people think that being helpful to others is the most important thing parents should teach to their children. Others believe that telling children to behave honestly is a more ideal approach. Still others argue that educating kids to become well organized is preferable. Personally, I maintain that adults should definitely teach the importance of honesty to their kids more than any other value. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, adults should help children establish their relationships with friends, and telling their kids to stay honest can help them establish a better friendship. For instance, I came from a vegetarian family, and my parents told me to stay honest even though I disagree on certain topics with my friends. When I debated my friends about environmental problems and animal welfare issues, I never lied to myself just to cater to my friends. As a result, though some classmates did portray me as an annoying person, most people admired my honesty and were willing to sustain a longer reationship with me. On the other hand, my aunt taught my cousin numerous practical chores, including washing the dishes, mopping the floor, and cooking. Nevertheless, even though my cousin became a well-disciplined children, he often condemn his friends in person for throwing trash and bottle cans everywhere. Consequently, most of his classmates consider him as an unfriendly person.

In addition, parents should teach their children moral values, but telling their kids to help others cannot enhance their kids' moral values. As an example, my parents told me to give my hands to others who are in desperate need. Thus, I was confused with the definition of "in need", and I once helped my best friend, Todd, cheat on his exam. Eventually, Todd and I were caught, we both got severely disciplined by our teacher and principals, and most importantly, I realized that had my parents placed more emphasis on honesty instead of altruism, I would undoubtedly not assist my friend in cheating. Contrarily, my professor taught his kid to prioritize honesty to other moral values, and I never heard of his kid running into any troubles involving dishonesty. Without a doubt, the examples mentioned above prove that adults should undoubtedly teach their children honesty to improve their moral values.

In conclusion, I maintain that adults should definitely teach the importance of honesty to their kids due to the aforementioned reasons. After all, parents are more concerned about their children's moral character development as well as their friendship.