Which one of the following values is the most important to share with a young child (ages 5 to 10)? Why?

1)Being helpful to others

2)Being honest

3)Being well-organized

Use specific examples and evidences to support your answer. "

Parents attach increasing importance to children’s development of personal qualities these days. Accordingly, a controversial topic has aroused about which value is of the greatest significance for the children education. Some argues that being pleased to help others is the most important, while some states that being well-organized means a lot. As for me, honesty is of the top priority to share with young child. My reasons and examples are given below.

Firstly, honesty can help children keep self-discipline and get rid of detrimental consequences. By being taught to be honest, children will understand that they should not cheat or tell a lie, otherwise, they must pay the price for their faults. For example, in primary school, if pupils are caught cheating in exams or copying their classmates’ homework, they must suffer from punishment like writing the self-criticism and getting a zero. But if they are not educated to have good faith during the age of ideological formation, it may cause baneful results when they grow up. Recently, many people cook up stories and spread them out on the internet, taking it for granted that their crime will not be exposed and punished. Actually, they are convicted of fraud and some have already been sentenced to jail.

Secondly, honesty constituted a stepping stone for children to improve their interpersonal relationship in the future. As we all know, no one is willing to make friends with dishonest people. As a result, the friends of a child who often lie to people around him will not trust him anymore and gradually keep away from him. If things continue like that, the child will finally form a solitary personality and have obstacles to communicate with others. It not only keeps the child from socializing well in school and workplace in the future but also does harm to his mental health.

What’s more, compared with the ability to help others and organize well, honesty is the most practical value to be equipped with for children aging 5 to 10. In fact, young children themselves still need help from their teachers and parents to deal with several problems, so they are not mature enough to help others in many circumstances. Besides, 5 to 10 year-old kids do not have so much stuff which requires them to organize. Correspondingly, even though adults teach the children to be helpful and well-organized, they are too childish to really use the ability and achieve the expected effect. On the contrary, honesty can make a big difference since children begin to realize the basic rules of the world in childhood.

In a nutshell, the education of honesty plays the most significant role for children during their young age.