You may choose between two professors who will be teaching a course that you must take at your university. If the following statements are the only information available to you about the differences between the two professors, which professor would you choose? Why?

-- A professor who proves to be very popular in students’ evaluations

-- A professor who was recently given an award for outstanding research.

Second, if I choose a professor who is popular among us students, I can set up a closer relationship with him compared to the academic one. We must admit that a professor who can gain so many recognition of his students must be available most time of the day so as to spare enough time to communicate with his students in class or out of the class. Take my nice accounting professor for example, he is always willing to provide his hands whenever I have difficulties in reading papers in economy field. In addition, when I get confused about whether I should choose to pursue my postgraduate diploma or to experience ups and downs in real business world, he can always act like a friend and good listener to encourage me to follow my heart. However, when it comes to a professor who was immersed in his research and paper, we may not get enough instructions from him, which has an adverse effect on our attitude towards our future development. That is to say, he may not have enough time to focus on his students. Thus, in terms that the time of a professor is limited, I would like to choose one professor who really cares about and get along well with his students.

To sum up, the professor with a good academic background may not be a nice teacher in students’ evaluations. But a nice professor must have one or more unique thing which can appeal to so many students and gain our respect and love. Therefore, I would choose the professor who proves to be very popular in students’ evaluations.