You have received a gift of money. The money is enough to buy either a piece of jewelry you like or tickets to a concert you want to attend. Which would you buy? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer

What to gift or even what to buy for the money you have been gifted for is a always puzzling. Some people prefers to participate in a more experience oriented activity like a tour or concert, however I would prefer to buy something that would be a token for this memory and can be useful in future. Jewelry is a very good option for this purpose. It is long lasting and retains its value for the lifetime.

First and foremost, a nice piece of jewelry can capture the moment forever. Affection for jewlery is one of the very old traits of human being. Moreover, nowadays jewelry can be crafted according to the event which provides more personalised touch there. My own experience can be a good example for this. During my fifth birthday I received a certain amount of money, for which I bought a golden chain containing five letters from my nick name. I still have that chain and it really cherish the memory of my childhood. When ever I look at that price of jewelry it reminds me about myself and how started the sixth year of my life with new experiences like schooling new friends etc.

Furthermore, jewelry retains its value very well. After money, Gold is sort of second currency in the world. Though its tough to sell a piece of memory infused in gold, critical times in life sometimes make us to do so. In such scenarios jewelry can be a very helpful in fulfilling some other larger aspects of life. Though sad, I have seen such a example during the days when my friend's father was very sick. After spending all of the savings, the last days of uncle's treatment was being covered by selling the gold ornaments they received during their wedding program. Good news is with the treatment completed properly, uncle is living a healthy life now which would have been impossible without compromising those precious gifts as gold.

Finally, jewelry has a larger effect in the macro economy. As long before, when people lived in small groups, their wealth were judged with the amount of jewelry and other live stock they posses. The same implies in the national level economy today. The biggest example of this is India, which is the country having the largest amount of gold in the hands of its people. People in India tries to save money and many of them do it in the form of gold based jewelry. As a result the population posses such significant amount of gold that it is counted as a big part of the whole Indian economy. Moreover, gold being traded internationally, India's amount of gold has an influential control over the golbal market as well. Hence buying a jewelry with the gifted money equates to participate in a larger economic activity.

Thus keeping the above points in mind it is fair to conclude that buying a jewelry with your money can keep they memory forever, can be useful during the hard times of one life and of course it is part of macro economy that can even empower a country's economy compared to other's. And so, I will prefer buying a jewelry instead of attending a concert with any such money I receive as gift in the future.