TPO-08 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Currently we are living in a media eccentric world, where we along with our family spend significant amount of time with different forms of media, among which television is one of the most influential and readily available one having it;'s audio visual power to entice the viewers. With the success of television, advertising has become a big business around the world. Though, at the beginning these adverts were mainly targeted towards adult people, nowadays fierce competition bring those companies to even make advertisement targeting to young children even aged within two to five. I strongly disagree with this idea mainly for its impacts on children's uninformed choice and affordability of the parents.

First and foremost, young children do not have the judging capability of the products advertised to them rather they may become happy with the color or a same aged baby dancing and chewing a gum, without knowing the consequences. As a result children sometimes suffer from health hazards. You can take the example of my nephew aged 4 by now. His parents used to make him watch television so that they can feed him easily. Being fan of cartoons he was exposed to a lot of child targeted adverts of chocolate products. This in fact changed his apatite and made him sort of addicted to chocolates. Down the line after two years he is suffering from dental problems and chocolates are identified as the cause. I am not arguing that chocolate is a bad food rather I also like them a lot, but the amount my nephew consumed at his age, was terribly high which cost him his health.

Secondly, all the parents in the world does not posses same level of affordability. And this becomes burden the children ask for costly stuffs from their parents showing particular advertisements. Where adult people can restrict their desire according to their ability, children always dreams of the sky; they are not limited by the facts. As a result it becomes tough for parents to satisfy their children. My own experience can be a good example here. When I was five, I was craving for a bi cycle which was advertised in our local television channel every afternoon during my favorite show. Back then though it was a big purchase for my family budget my mother gifted me that cycle. last year I cam to know how my mother borrowed the money for the cycle and cleared the loan from family budget in subsequent months. Knowing this really made me become very sorry for my parents. I believe I would not be so much wanting for the cycle without watching it's advertisement on television.

In conclusion, television has revolutionized our society in many ways. As everything has two sides of the coin, children target advertisement is one of the dark side of television based marketing due the children's inability to differentiate and parents unequal affordability.