young people more independent today or in the past

Whether young people are more independent and self-reliant today or in the past depends on the lens through which one is looking. Some may argue that due to younger marriage age in the past and encountering the responsibilities of handling a family sooner, young pepople were more independent in the past. On the other hand, opponents of this idea may believe that global surge in the use of technology has contributed to the youth being less reliant on their parents. I agree with the latter. and in my opinion, our young generations today have far more self-confidence and independency. I will demonstrate further as follows.

First, although family responsibilities would usually fall upon a young person sooner in the past, the changing ambient of the world today presents the youth with different kinds of challenges that they have to overcome themselves. In the rapidly alternating societies today, there is noticeable gap between parents values and their young children. What we see every day on media is a representative of the aforementioned occurance. We routinely observe adolescence today gathering and practicing the the principles of human rights, environment preservation, protection against global warming, enabling vulnerable populations, and so on. These major differences between young people and their parents , and also their variuos and sometimes opposing perceptions of the world, has led the youth to be more independent today. For instance, I have a cousin whose goal in life is to vistit less priviledged areas and help the people. When she communicated this idea to her parents they didi not approve and asked her to attend a graduate program instead. This forced her to make her decisions alon when her parents were not supportive.

Secondly, in the recent years, time has been ripe for the flourishing of technology and social media. Almost everyone today utilizes social media platforms for various purposes from promoting their business, to education, and especially gain insight on the world. On that note, the impact of such platforms on people and young people -who are the major user group- is undeniable. There are tremendous promotions of independency, confidence, finding your own path, and such concepts on social media. Hence, since these characteriscts are viewed as more appreciable and accepted by peers in the eyes of the youth today, they are presumably trying to develop and maintain these qualities.

In conclusion, due to the notable differences between young people and their previous generation, and also vast expansions of technology and social media which support independency, young people today are more independent.