young people today could not help their communities as they were in the past

The concept of encouraging young people to volunteer in their communities is practiced in many countries. Some people believe that youngsters today do not have enough time to help their communities; however, others claim that nowadays adults could participate in various volunteer roles. From a personal perspective, the latter point of view carries more weight given that participating in volunteer jobs has a positive impact on young people’s social skills, careers and confidence.

The first and foremost point, volunteering helps students to connect to their communities and expand their social networks. A vivid example of that, the North American students who do volunteer jobs at public libraries or in children campus get chance to meet new people and socialize with others, which improve their communication skills. Consequently, volunteering has crucial impact on adults’ social skills.

Next, coupled with proper social networks, choosing a career is another noticeable benefit of volunteering. Provided that young people are consider a new career, volunteering could help them to get experience in their new area of interest and meet people in a filed. For instance, students who are interesting in nursing could volunteer at hospitals or nursing homes; furthermore, it could expose them to professional organizations and internships that could be of benefits to their future careers. In addition to that, adolescents who help their communities could practice many skills, such as teamwork, project planning and problem solving. Therefore, volunteering could not only help students to discover their career path, but also amplify their skills.

Ultimately, young people who participate in various volunteer roles could have high self-confidence. For example, high school students who help their communities can have good self-esteem, sense of pride and identity. Although some students help out with small tasks, they still could make a real difference in the lives of people, animals and organizations in need; thus, they could feel better about themselves and have a positive view of their life and future goals.

Taking everything into consideration; without a doubt, young people today could do a variety of volunteer jobs. It is suggested that schools teach their students about the benefits of volunteering to encourage them to improve their communities.