Your friend has the opportunity to choose either one of the two types of major (field of study). Which one of the following two majors do you think is a better choice, and why?

A. A major that would allow him to finish years of study and get a degree sooner (so that he could begin to work full-time quickly)

B. A major that requires many years of study that would provide him with more employment opportunities and offers in the future.

John Dewey once commented, “Education is not preparation for life; education is life itself.” Since World War II, opportunities to receive higher-education have blossomed, with more and more people being able to relish the fruit of higher education. With this fashion, a wide diversity of college programs have been offered to college students so that they can base their admissions decision on their needs. It is many educators’ as well as my belief that a major that allows my friend to finish his undergraduate study sooner so that he could land a full-time job more quickly can yield more benefits.

To begin with, if my friend can enter workforce earlier, then he could accumulate wealth much sooner. To be more specific, nowadays, the cost of accomplishing a four-year college study has become higher and higher. Many students end up having to apply for financial aids or fellowship or even student loans in order to pay for their undergraduate studies. Therefore, completing the degree faster, getting the diploma sooner, and landing a full-time job more quickly seems a rather rational decision given the fact that the current economy is in a recession. To exemplify this, when my brother attended Columbia University, the tuition that he had to pay per academic year was set at around sixty-thousand dollars. The tuition was so prohibitively expensive that our family even had to sell out two of our houses in order to cover my brother’s tuition at Columbia University. Therefore, witnessing the financial hardship that my family underwent, my brother, a computer science major, took nearly up to twenty-one credits per semester. Although the academic pressure was nearly defeating and unbearable, my brother managed to graduate two seamsters early and he successfully landed a job at Google, working as a computer engineer. Since his early graduation, he was able to secure a job position and began to work and be rewarded monetarily. Less than two years, he was capable of paying back the money that my parents lent him whereas his classmates at the same year of admissions were still struggling paying back their student loans and borrowings.

Furthermore, students finishing all the required credits and graduating early would be able to concentrate on their studies better. To further illustrate, since students have to take more courses within a shortened time period, they are less likely to distract themselves form participating in extracurriculars or taking jobs, activities that might sidetrack them from their studies. With more heavy workload, students can concentrate on learning wholeheartedly to ensure that they can graduate early. According to a latest research study done by Department of Curriculum and Instruction at University of Wisconsin-Madison, the researchers probed into how the design of curriculum would impact students’ learning efficacy, or specifically the drop-out rate of enrolled students. The researchers investigated two groups of Ph.D. biology students, where one group consisted of students finished their doctoral program within four years whereas the other group was composed of students that completed ether doctoral program over seven years. The results of the study were pretty striking since the researchers had originally anticipated that with more trainings received in the doctoral program, the biology students should have acquired more skills and learnt more. Surprisingly, the reverse was true. The researchers discovered that the Ph.D. biology students that finished their program within four years spent more time working at the lab or doing independent readings and research at the library since they were in a way “pressured” to complete all these requirements within four years. On the other hand, Ph.D. students that completed their program over seven years often found themselves tangled with a host of duties, such as serving as teaching assistants, teaching undergraduates, or grading assignments and papers, or serving as administrative staff members for the department. They therefore could not pay enough attention to doing their research. The most paramount result of the study is that students that spent less time finishing their requirements and graduate early tend to have lower drop-out rates, such as twenty-one percent in the case of the Ph.D. biology students. Conversely, their counterparts that spend more time finishing their requirements and thereby graduate late tend to have higher drop-out rates, such as forty-nine in the case of the Ph.D. biology students.

The compelling arguments listed above have conspicuously showcased that finishing studies early can confer better and more advantages and therefore, I would definitely recommend my friend choosing the first option from the prompt.