Your friend has the opportunity to choose either one of two types of majors (fields of study), which one of the following two majors do you think is a better choice, and why?A major that would allow him to finish years of study and get a degree sooner (so

In contemporary society, where a university degree is nearly an indispensable qualification for a satisfying job, it comes as no surprise that selecting appropriate duration of the study required by the major has emerged as a controversial issue. Some adhere to the belief that a shorter study process should be favored to get involved in full-time work as soon as possible, whereas an alternative strategy is to have a prolonged study for more employment options. If my friends are stuck in such a dilemma, I will recommend the later approach without the slightest hesitation and in the ensuing paragraphs the rationale behind this suggestion will be further elucidated.

The foremost factor tipping the competitive edge away from the former to the latter is the career development. Albeit students quickly accomplishing the university education presumably master more practical technique in practice, the crippling disadvantage of the paucity of theoretical knowledge will leave their chance of advancing their career hanging by a thread. My brother’s experience is a compelling instance of this point. He is a seasoned factory worker possessing mastery of operating the machine. Nevertheless, I can still recall his compunctious appearance when he complained to me about his bitter defeat in the competition of promotion. His rival had acquired encyclopedic knowledge about the mechanism of machine in the long school time, thereby devising an original ingenious structure, which dramatically curtailed the failure rate. On the contrary, my brother was afflicted by the shortage of leisure time which could be utilized to compensate the deficiency in the foundamental knowledge for the mounting work pressure.

Another significant reason that warrants attention is that the more employment opportunities we are blessed with, the more likely we can find the niche in the workplace. As is often the case, the applicants with little research experience are more than likely to be excluded from the technical position. Instead, they will be distributed to the job that necessitates limited sophisticated knowledge such as the salespersons, the operator and so on. However, provided that a job seeker is a person who has blazing ardor to increase the production efficiency by a revolutionary production which is the fruit of the long time research, his ambition will conceivably be aborted merely for his weak foundation in research.

With the career prospect and the employment opportunity taken into consideration, we can logically reach a conclusion that it is more advisable for my friends to spend more years in school.