Your government has announced that it wishes to build a military base near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the military base? Explain your position.

Teamwork is one of the essential skills in managing problems. When it comes to whether a group can solve a problem better or an individual, opinions vary from person to person. In my opinion, a single person can provide superior solutions to problems than a group can provide. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, every member of a team may not always have a suitable competency to solve the problem. If people with a low skill set influence the decisions, their arguments can do more harm than direct us to the solutions. While, on the other hand, individuals with the required skillset can provide better solutions to a problem. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. My major project in college was based on machine learning and one of my group members did not know this field of study. While coding, an error occurred and each one of us gave opinions. The person who had no knowledge told wrong solutions. As a result, the project submission got delayed that affected our grades. Thus, it is better for a qualified individual to solve a problem specific to his domain.

Furthermore, reaching a consensus is difficult and lengthy when each team member has different perspective on solving a problem. In a team, each member may belong to different community, race and religion. These differences shape their opinions and consequently lead to variety of solutions. For instance, when there is a debate on television, people voice their opinion based on their affiliations to a political party, personal goals and educational qualifications among many other factors. In case of affluent people, there is even more bias and consequently the discussion gets prolonged. Thus, it is better if an individual having the required domain knowledge solves the problem.

To sum up, individuals can solve a problem better than a group can. Person with required skills can provide a better solution than a team with even one incompetent member. In addition, different viewpoints make the discussions futile.