The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially. The author basis it on the claim that 80% of the students wanted the college to remain all female and half of the alumnae also wanted the same. The argument may look convincing at first glance. But some questions need to be answered to make the argument valid.

Firstly, are the 20% students who are not part of the survey also support the recommendation of college remaining an all female college? For instance, all the 20% students want the college to be coeducation. Then the survey would not be considered legit. Moreover, the 20% students could be intentionally left out due to their disagreement. The survey should be fair for the claim to hold true. If the survey is not conducted fairly, the argument will be weakened.

Secondly, are the questions of the survey unbiased? The questions should be related to the coeducation as well as all female college. If out of 10 questions 8 are only asking about all female, the survey will be biased towards the all female education. The questions should ask about the preference of students.

Thirdly, are all the alumnae included in the survey? It may be the case that some alumnae students are against this recommendation. Moreover, the alumnae surveyed may be biased to all female. Moreover, it is not mentioned the time of graduation of alumnai. The situation at that time may be different. Maybe,at that time the environment was not safe for females. This would again lead to an unfair survey.

Clearly, the argument as it stands now is flawed. It can be strengthened by conducting a fair survey that consists of reasonable questions and includes all students concerned. If all the questions above are answered, the argument will be valid.