Your teacher assigns a project to you, and you can select the members to work with.

-choose the members who think and work in similar ways

-choose the members who have totally different ideas

Which would you think is more effective to work with?

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">People always need to cooperate with others in order to realize a big dream, and group work is a proper approach to learn how to deal with different kinds of people. When it comes to choosing workmates, some students would like to work with similar ones, since it is easier to communicate with, while from my perspective of view, I prefer to work with entirely different members, simply because this way can make us contribute to the project from various aspects and improve our interpersonal ability.

To begin with, a diverse group always promotes members' self-existence and fosters teamwork spirits, since everyone could share his unique viewpoint based on his previous experiences. As saying goes, "Everything we know and we understand is based on our prior knowledge and experience." Thus, we feel we are participating and we can enrich our knowledge diversely at the same time. Let me take one of my personal experiences to illustrate this. Last time, I was asked to finish an essay on artificial intelligence. One of our group members, Oliver, was from the economy department, while others are all from the engineering department. Once other teammates suspected that Oliver just wanted to be a free-rider. What surprised us was that he claimed some profound analysis from the business angle, which was just a perfect supplement to our theological statement, and it turned out to be the highlight of our assignment, so our work eventually got high praise from the professor. Had I not chosen to work with an exotic major, our work would sink in the sea.

What's more, working with different people is an efficient way to enlarge the friend circle, since group work creates an atmosphere to communicate with each other and cooperates closely so as to achieve the common goal. During daily life, we hardly make friends with those holding different ideas, but the group work brings such new friendship possible. Just take how I met Oliver, who becomes my close friend after the summer course, as a good example. Frankly speaking, I had known Oliver much earlier before our friendship was built. What impressed me most was that we were entirely different people. Once in a summer lecture, we were occasionally arranged into the same group. It was till then that we had the first conversation, and I realized that we actually shared so much in common. Had I not participated in that group, we could still be strangers.

Admitting, the members acting in similar ways would save some time on discussing, but it is easier to be distracted as well. Students generally fall asleep quickly or are easily distracted by the twitters, Facebook messages or new posts on Instagram, because their ideas are uniform and they have nothing to dispute. However, things would be quite different when students have various backgrounds. They have to listen to others carefully, take notes quickly and discuss with others fiercely in order to reach an agreement.

Hence, students can benefit a lot from cooperating with different kinds of teammates for everyone can show his strength, be more sociable than ever before, and not be distracted easily in such a group.</span><br>