Your university is planning to allow students to watch TV in their dormitories. What is your opinion and why? What are the advantages and disadvantages of watching TV in dormitories? Include reasons and examples to support your response.

Universities are always trying to make dormitories such a convenient place where students can get relaxed and feel like they are at their homes so television is one of the pieces of equipment that makes difference. While TV has numerous benefits, it has noticeable negative effects as well. Opinions are divided on whether students should be permitted to watch TV in dormitories or not. Personally, I am of the opinion that students should not be allowed to watch TV in dormitories in spite of it beneficial. I will develop my point of view by discussing the positive and negative aspects of TV in the following essay.

In the first place, it is undeniable that televisions are such great cheap entertainment that can play a crucial role in relieving students' minds after a tense day of studying by programs such as shows, movies, games, and so on. As a matter of fact, just studying could be overwhelming thereby watching funny shows which are capable of making anybody laughing can change his/her mood positively. Being a student, for example, I always try to change my mood after a tough day at university via watching talk shows like Ellen show. It really works and makes me happier and comes over on difficulties. As a result, in this case, allowing students to watch TV is exceedingly helpful.

On the other hand, it is a solid fact that everything has its own detrimental aspects and televisions are not exceptional. To be more specific, televisions are potentially destructive devices that could be a serious hinder in the process of practicing lessons at dormitories. My friend is a great clarifying example of this. My friend who is a big fan of football spends so much of his time at the dorm watching football games that most of the time he could not do his assignments perfectly. As a consequence, Last semester he barely passed his final exams since he had addicted to watching TV. Had he watched less TV, he could have passed the final exams easily.

To make a long story short, I strongly support the idea that students should not be permitted to watch TV at dorms since its disadvantages overweigh on its advantages. It is might be entertainment to help students come over difficulties but it is such a time-consuming distracting device that prevents students from concentrating on their lessons.