"Brands that offer discounts and sales dilute their reputation and value."

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this statement. Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Some brands have never put their items on sales or offered discounts, while other brands are often reducing the prices for clearing old stocks. It is argued that discounts and sales can dilute the brand reputation and value. In my opinion, if companies want to maintain the status of their products, they should not slash the prices ever.

On the one hand, many people consider price tags to be the reflection of product qualities. When lowering the price, companies may unintentionally send the message that the real value of their products are much lower. Even for off-season stocks, people often think that companies will never sell anything lower than their cost. By inferring from the discounted prices, customers can have the wrong perception that the quality is not comparable to more expensive competitors' products.

On the other hand, high-end customers are willing to pay for higher prices because of the scarcity of the product that they are purchasing. Prices are acting as barrier between mass market buyers and upper class ones. By putting items on sales, companies are making their products more accessible to other buyers, which damages their reputation among high-class customers.

In conclusion, by offering discounts and sales, companies are diluting their reputation and value. To keep their high-end status, brands should never cut their prices.