Online shopping is destroying local businesses.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of online shopping with regards to this statement. Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experiences or observations.

It is true that nowadays more and more people purchase things from the internet. It is argued that online shopping is putting local stores out of business. In my opinion, local businesses still have their own competitive advantages.

On the one hand, it is an undeniable fact that online merchandises become very popular recently. There are two main reasons why customers are leaning over to online stores. Firstly, it is very convenient to browse through huge amount of selections on the web. Images, descriptions and reviews are readily available for any products. Secondly, online shops are often being able to offer better prices, because of lower overhead costs. Buying and shipping any product is only one click away.

On the other hand, local shops are still having their uniqueness that can enable them to compete with online ones. Firstly, local shops are set up in clusters, together with other shops. Those shops become a place of interest for local and tourist buyers. Flee markets and weekend markets, for example, are greatly popular among the youth in South East Asian. Secondly, local stores often have special handmade stocks, that are not available on the internet. Customers, especially fashionable ones, are often seeking for their signature outfits in local places.

In conclusion, even though competition is fierce between online and physical stores, local businesses are still an irreplaceable segment.