Do you think that English will remain to be a global language despite globalisation?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is a colossal upsurge in the usage of English language in almost every part of the world, thanks to globalisation. There is a widespread worry that increased exposure of other languages and cultures will threaten the dominance of English language. In my opinion, this apprehension is unwarranted and so should be rejected.

There are a number of arguments in favour of my stance. The most preponderant one is that thanks to globalisation, that interaction between people from different languages and diverse cultural backgrounds will inevitably increase. As English is already the most widely used language throughout the world, not only will it help people to communicate effectively with each other, but it will also be embraced by more and more people. Needless to say, this universal appeal if English will keep it in a preponderant position, as far as gaining more popularity is concerned.

Another overt facet of this argument is that now English is the language of Science, Commerce, Trade, Arts, History, Literature, media, entertainment and what no. Unlike in the past, when the world was not much connected without a common language and so it was next to impossible to keep abreast with the latest happenings, nowadays English has helped mankind overcome all communication barriers. Hence, the likelihood that English will thrive, flourish and spread rapidly is very high.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of globalisation in the proliferation of English language are too great to ignore.