Do you think formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school?

Assessment is an integral part to judge student's performance. Many people think that formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school. I oppose this notion as there are other efficient ways exist to evaluate the knowledge of the student and those can be combined with formal written examinations. This essay will discuss my viewpoint in detail.

To commence with, although formal written examinations help teachers to get to know students' grasp and understanding on particular subject and teachers can help students in better way, it can create a lot of pressure to students as sometimes under pressure students do not perform as per their potential and that can be misleading to evaluate one's performance.

for example, a recent study shows that in formal written examinations generally 30% students do not perform as per their capability due to high pressure. Therefore, formal written examinations should not be only assessment way to assess student's knowledge.

Practical examinations can be very useful to assess student's knowledge as it allows students to showcase their creative skills and presentation skills and even it reduces their stress level also. In practical assessment, students also learn to work in groups and respect each other's work. For instance, in India, many schools focus more on practical assessment because students perform much better in practical exams compared to formal written examinations due to less pressure.

In conclusion, although formal written examinations are good way to assess knowledge at school, it's not only way to judge one's knowledge and other assessment can be opted to evaluate student’s knowledge. In my opinion, a balanced assessment approach is required to judge student's knowledge at school.