Do you think formal written assessments in today's world to assess students’ performance is effective or not? Discuss your viewpoint on this and support your answer with examples.

It’s a traditional approach to assess students’ performance by formal written assessments. I believe that student’s assessment should not be solely made on written assessment where practical assessment is equally significant in assessment. This essay will discuss both sides in detail and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

To commence with, written assessment is a traditional and classical approach to evaluate students’ performance. This method helps teachers to see how much students have learned throughout their coursework and their learning abilities. This assessment is a good way to test the memory of students and their grasping power. Often student feels little nervous and stressed when take part in an important exam. For instance, according a research, students generally get tensed during the exam and that stress decreases their ability to perform better in exams and bring down their grades. Therefore, formal written assessment is still an effective method to assess student in some way.

On the flip side, today, many schools and universities are focusing on more practical assessment with more experiments, projects tasks because they are helpful to assess the student’s skills like communication, analytical, presentation skills and many other abilities like working in groups. Regular valuation somewhere reduces the stress of student that arises with the formal examinations. For example, a study shows those students that do well in practical assessment rather than written assessment, they are more creative and good team player. Thus, practical assessments are more effective method to assess students today than written assessment.

In conclusion, although written assessment still effective way to assess student’s learning abilities and grasping power, practical assessment is way more effective approach to assess students’ performance. In my opinion, a balanced approach of both written and practical assessment is a more significant way to assess students’ performance.