Do you think formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school?

These days, there is an ongoing debate among people about formal examinations and if it is a good way to assess a student's performance at school. while it is possible to claim that written exams are a way to test how much a student has learned, my view is that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analyzing both sides of the argument.

There are several reasons why a written exam may not be the best way to judge a student. One of them is that simple knowledge is not enough. It is important to learn how to apply knowledge. It can also be argued that just because a person can memorize information and convey during the exam, it doesn't mean he or she will be able to apply it in the real world successfully. It should also be taken into account that practical skills are more important than knowledge. For example, a person can write an exam about techniques of construction, but if he doesn't know to construct something practically, this knowledge is useless.

Those who argue for written examinations have a different view and say that it can actually be a good thing. Firstly, it is claimed that it tests how much a student can retain key information in their memory. Then, there are concerns about not knowing the theory first before getting to the practical side of things.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my personal opinion is that the format written exam should not be the only way students are assessed. I would strongly recommend that more practical assessment methods be included to measure performance more accurately.