Do you think that formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school?

Recently, formal written examination in regards to knowledge assessment at school has sparked an ongoing controversy, which inevitably leads to a moot question "what are the Pros and Cons of formal written examination?". Whereas it is a widely held view that it is highly beneficial, I will discuss controversial aspects of that throughout this essay.

From the general standpoint, formal education is bound up inextricably with examination, which indicates it leads to both written assignment and oral exam. As a well-known example, a longitudinal study conducted by eminent scientists in 2018 demonstrates the relationship between course syllabus and overall score as well as an exponential increase in student's performance. Their academic criticism was impressive. Consequently, my empirical evidence presented thus far support the contention that the likelihood of traditional methods is correlated positively with not only human capacity but also long-term memory.

Within the realm of educational system, without the slightest doubt, modern teaching techniques attribute to team working tasks, in that it would come down to hard-working, practical skills, and personal experience. A salient example of such attribution is oral evaluation, which is a cause for concern since it was mistaken to take general knowledge for granted. Had there been a paradigm shift earlier, scholars might have had the opportunity to pinpoint old-fashioned educational methods problems. Likewise, hardly had they confined their attention to critical thinking, problem solving, and even agile mind. Hence, it is reasonable to infer the pivotal role of modern evaluation ways.

To conclude, as for myself, as the saying goes "all's well that ends well," after analyzing what elaborated above, I firmly believe that the drawbacks of written examination are outweigh its benefits. However, with the benefit of hindsight, we conceive the more we research the further we discover.