Do you think the significance of English language as an international language will be lost with globalisation or its significance will increase with globalisation? What is your opinion?

The significance of English as an international language, which was always debatable has now become more controversial. The impact of English as an international language has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on globalisation. It can be said that its significance will increase with globalisation. This essay will elaborate how English will help in communicating better and how it has been used in various fields of study and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are a number of reasons why English's significance will grow along with globalisation but the most preponderant one stems from the fact that English is the widely spoken language for interactions between people of different nations.Needless to say, not only people from different countries use English to communicate, but also people from diverse cultural backgrounds do the same. For example, trade agreements between India and China are documented in English. Thus English will survive despite increasing globalisation.

Another key justification to support this notion is that English has been used in different fields of study like commerce, science, mathematics and what not. Unlike the past where most of the knowledge of different subjects were written in regional languages, today most of the work has been translated into English making it available to the world. For instance, Bagavatgita and Mahabaratha, written ages ago in Sanskrit have now been translated into English.

From what has been discussed above, one can conclude that the significance of English language will increase with globalisation.