Nowadays, people spend too much time at work to the extent that they hardly have time for their personal life. Discuss.

The effect of people spending too much time at work, which was always debatable has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of employees working long hours has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on their personal life. It can be said that long working hours have an adverse effect on an employee’s personal life. This essay will elaborate what makes people work longer and the positive effects of creating a work-life balance and thus will come to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are a number reasons why people spend too much time at work, but the most preponderant one lies in the fact that employees have job insecurities. For example, a study indicates that people who spend less time at the office are often unlikely to get promoted. Furthermore, with robots and artificial intelligence ready to take over the human workforce, it has added an enormous amount of pressure on the employees to perform at optimum levels to and to stay ahead in the race.

Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that people should have a balance between work and their personal life. This is mainly because working long hours can not only lead to affecting the health of an employee but also could be a hindrance to his personal life. Therefore, a good work/life balance can enable employees to feel more in control of their working life and lead to increased productivity, a happier married life, improvements in employee health and well-being.

From what has been discussed above, one can conclude that working extra hours is prominent to secure their position at the company, although creating a work-life balance should not be overlooked.