Xenophobia has accelerated rapidly in the western countries.” According to you what solutions can be proposed by government and individuals.

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is an upsurge in xenophobia all over the world, especially in the affluent nations. There are a wide range of factors that account for why this is happening. This essay will present an overview of these factors and suggest potential solutions.

There are a number of reasons for an increase in xenophobia. The primary one lies in the fact that many think that immigrants from impoverished countries should not be entitled to all the benefits such as healthcare, employment and the like that the former have access to. As a result, they suffer from a sense of insecurity and indignance, which engenders hatred, fear and what not. Besides, intolerance towards diverse cultures also plays a role in deteriorating this issue.

Steps to deal with this problem are many, but the most effective ones are in fact not remote or complicated, but accessible and practicable. Firstly, the government has to take a firm stance against xenophobia. It can not only highlight the instrumental role played by immigrants in the social and economic development of the country but also hold discussions and talks on this issue more frequently. Besides, multicultural programmes and events can be organized by individuals or different community groups so that the local residents get an opportunity to enhance their knowledge of different cultures which will, in turn, contribute to shaking off hatred, discrimination, and hostility towards the immigrants. Only when convergent efforts from all sectors are ensured, can we expect to see a considerable progress in overcoming this soaring concern.

In view of the above discussion, one can conclude that the problem of xenophobia can be successfully addressed, provided that the aforementioned measures are taken. The potential impacts of this phenomenon are indeed too dire to ignore.