experiential learning vs traditional learning

The idea of experiential learning- in other words- learning by experience, is widely debated, with many people claiming that the benefits it offers are no match for its drawbacks. However, I do not agree with this and I will explain in this essay.

There are a number of a arguments in favour of my stance. The most preponderant one is that experiential learning requires students to cooperate and learn from each others through direct experience tied to real-world problems. It not only does allow students to observe, review and reflect on their early practices, but it also ensures that students remain motivated and actively engaged in posing questions, experimenting, investigating , being curious and problem solving. Apparently, the role of teacher in this approach is not to direct student’s performance, but to facilitate it by embedding suitable experiences and problems into classroom activities. Needless to say, all these merits will stand students in good stead when it comes to offering assistance in their natural aptitude.

Another pivotal aspect of this approach is that experiential learning can be applied in high school or college curriculum set in a verity of project-based, campus based and community contexts. As per modern schools of thought, far from encouraging root learning, this approach can be more likely to prepare students to be contributing members and leaders of local, nation and global communities.

In the view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of experiential learning are indeed too great to ignored.