The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate local produced food. What extent do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays, local produce food has become a long-running dispute among the public all around the world, which leads to a moot question "is it advantageous?" Although some people argue that the disadvantages of local food are more, I tend to believe that the merits of it are more.

From an economic terms, local produce is indeed bound up tightly with economic growth, which leads to both resanable price food products and high employment rate. For example, a group of reputable economists, working at prestigious university, conducted a longitudinal study to understand the relation ship between agricultural products and farmers as well as socio-economic conditions. Therefore, this evidence presented thus far support the contention that economic issues are correlated positively with not only consumers but also agriculture.

In environmental terms, local produced foods are undoubtedly attributable to using fossil fuels, in that they would lead to air pollution, carbon emissions, and long distances. A well-known example of such attributions is food exports, which are cause for concern since they had been mistaken to take impoted local food for granted. Had they protected natural resources in advance, it might have had the opportunity to preserve the environment. Thus, local produce could play a significant role in preserving the environment.

To recapitulate, I firmly believe that the advantages of local prouced foods far outweigh its drawbacks. However, as every garden may have some weeds, local authorities are recommended to enforce some strict regulatios, and individuals are hoped to heighten their intellect.