With the increase of digital media available online the role of the library has become obsolete University should provide digital material rather than textbooks Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view

The consequences of increasing digital content in libraries and Universities have always been an unsettled subject among teachers and students. The role of standard libraries in schools and colleges has downgraded due to an upsurge in the field of digital content and media. This essay will succinctly discuss a few of the merits and disadvantages of using digital media as compared to print media.

With digital media, students can access more content in less time. Not only students and readers often waste their time searching for textbooks but also affect their studies as a whole. In a recent case study, for example, it was found that students who read through textbooks scored fewer marks as compared to those who studied from e-books. Hence, it is apparent why there is an inclination towards the digital books.

With several benefits, the use of digital media has some drawbacks also. Eyesight deterioration is a common issue found in readers of digital books. Spending long hours in front of LED screens affect their eyesight severely. For instance, in research, it was found that the readers who spent more than five hours a day reading digital papers will experience severe health problems in the future. Thus, all these demerits stand digital reading in lousy stead, as far as the health of people is concerned.

This essay presented a few of the benefits of digital reading such as time-saving, and demerits such as health issues. Given the arguments elucidated above, the disadvantages of digital reading are too conspicuous to overlook.