With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. Universities should only procure digital materials rather than constantly textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view.

These days, there is an ongoing debate about fast and innovative technology digital media spread around the world. While it is claimed that digital media has taken the place of off line media like text books, magazine, newspapers etc. My view is that disadvantages outweigh the advantages. I shall give my point of view by analyzing both the sides of argument.

There are several reasons why digital material procure by the universities rather than text books. There are enormous benefits of digital material. One of them is that there is a less wastage of material due to digital material so it creates no wastage of paper so it is very good while considering the environment. It can also be argued that one can easily access digital material from anywhere in the world. It should also taken into account that with digital material cost will reduce drastically which will be benefit to students as well university as they can spend that money in other useful things.

Those who argue for textbooks in library have different point of view and say that it can actually be a good thing. Firstly, it is claimed that textbooks have numerous advantages over digital material. Then, there are concerns about textbooks over online material easily available on the website.

There are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my personal opinion is that digital material is easy to access and helpful over textbook in library so the role of library has become obsolete. I would strongly recommend that digital material will become popular in coming days.