Is increase tourism beneficial or harmful to the local culture ? Give your opinion.

Tourism in any country is a lucrative business but for developing countries, it provides a plethora of opportunities. However, many argue that tourism is detrimental to the local culture and tradition, while proponents see the merits in it. This essay will explain how tourism is beneficial for the upliftment of local economy and will analyze the reason why it may cause adverse effects.

To begin with, tourism in many countries have paved way for many exciting opportunities for the local community. Firstly, the industry creates new jobs like hotels, restaurants, and tourist guides. Furthermore, the socio-economic status of the country is increased at rapid speed due to the incessant flow of tourist. For instance, the citizens of the country "Maldives" whose revenue solely depends on tourism, has experienced a tenfold increase in their average daily wages after an enormous amount of backpackers started to venture in this small island.

On the contrary, in some country tourism has negatively influenced the locals. Many third world countries are leveraged by the tourist and the adolescents try to immitate them in terms of dress sense, language and spending amount lavishly on a mrraid of items. For example, a recent research conducted by the University of SASTRA, India has declared many teens and young adults are heavily influenced by the western culture which is a result of high tourism in that country. Thus, tourism can be a burden in some countries.

In essence, tourism has both, its merits and drawbacks. However, in my opinion, cautions need to be exercised by the citizens of the country in preserving their local tradition and also improve their socio-economic status in innovative way.