It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. Some people believe that the year off is a waste of time while others believe that it is necessary.Choose which position you most agree with and discu

There is a colossal upsurge in popularity in have a break period of one year after finishing school and before entering to the university. Some believe that the period is a waste of time while others claim that it is mandatory. I profoundly believe having a gap of one year is not the right choice and in this essay I will elaborate my stance.

Firstly, the advantages of taking a break between high school and university is that the students will get time to relax after the stressful years of continuous studies. During this time, they will also be able to explore or learn an art that interest them. For example, someone who is interested in tailoring may learn to sew and stich garments. This will also aid as a stress buster as they are performing something of their interest.

On the other hand, there are myriad of repercussions if there is a lingering gap. The young adults may become lazy and may not want to get back to studies. Moreover, if they had started earning and handle dollars they will not know the imperativeness of education. A recent longitudinal study by researchers had determined that 70% of the pupils who take a long break between secondary school and university discontinue theirs studies.

To conclude, it is disadvantageous for the students to go on a long break and they should be out of the preconceived notion of the concept of taking such breaks.