It has recently been suggested that the classical, or "dead", languages Latin and Greek should be re- introduced into the school curriculum. Those that oppose the idea claim that the ancient languages are of no practical use and no help in getting a job. Those in favor of the idea say that education is more about training the mind than preparing for a career.

Which of these points of view do you most agree with? Support your argument, where possible, with reasons and/or examples from your own experience and observations.

The inclusion of old and ancient languages like Latin and Greek into the academic curriculum has always been the point of discussion. Some people emphasize the importance of classical languages, while others maintain that they have no utility in practical as well as professional lives. This essay will further support the point that dying languages should not be taught in the schools.

Firstly, in the modern era old languages do not hold any meaning. Moreover, the emergence of English as a global language has sidelined the requirement of any other language. As an example, every job sector communicates in English and demands fluency in English as a pre-requisite for employees. Therefore, it is unquestionable that old or ancient language should be included as mandatory in syllabus.

On the other hand, teaching of ancient languages would bear no good fruit as the ubiquity of English has rendered it as a common man’s language. For instance, a student conversant with ancient language will be required to prove his metal in English fluency to make progress in professional domain. Thus, there seems no such requirement to preach dying out and ancient languages in schools.

To conclude, ancient languages compared to English are insufficient to provide an individual a better entrance in the employment sector, therefore, I opine that they should not be included in schools’ curriculum.