It has recently been suggested that the classical, or "dead", languages Latin and Greek should be re- introduced into the school curriculum. Those that oppose the idea claim that the ancient languages are of no practical use and no help in getting a job

Recently, a debate has sparked about whether re-introducing classical languages such as Greek and Latin in school curricula offers any value to students and societies. Whereas people biased against the revival of these languages deem them as "dead" languages and claim that they have no practical value, those in favor of the revival, opine that these languages train the mind and should not be seen just from a career perspective. In this essay, I will discuss both the views and offer my perspective on why these languages should be re-introduced.

First of all, though not much in use in recent decades, these languages are considered rich by many historians. This is evident by the vast number of literature and history that can be found written in those languages. In addition, popular languages, such as English and Spanish, have derived a lot of words from Greek and Latin, thus highlighting the importance of these classical languages. Learning these languages would offer many advantages. For example, if these languages are introduced in school curricula, we would have a large number of people in those languages who can then explore the history and literature from the past.

People who do not want to have these languages taught in school curricula claim that such languages are of no value since they do not help students get good jobs. While they may be right to some extent, it can be argued that learning a language is not just about increasing one's career prospects. Instead, they train the mind and prepare people to pursue broader interests. For example, archeologists proficient in Greek and Latin languages can discover many things about the early civilization that existed in those countries.

Based on the arguments presented above, the advantages of re-introducing these languages in school curricula clearly outweigh the opposing ideas. I strongly believe that learning of these languages in schools should be highly encouraged.