Paper books are and will always be superior to e-books.Discuss the advantages or disadvantages of e-books with regards to this statement. Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.Write between 200 an

With the advent of technology, almost all books are now available in electronic format. While an increasing number of people use and prefer e-books for their reading needs, there are others who believe that paper books have always been superior and will continue to be so. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages of e-books when compared to its paper-based counterpart.

Gone are the days when people only carried a book or two when they went on a vacation. E-books are now a preferred medium and people now carry thousands of books in a e-book reader such as Amazon Kindle or any generic tablet. Portability and utility are primarily driving this popularity of e-books. People now have a lots of options at their fingertips when it comes to choosing a book to read that suits the place or mood they are in. Furthermore, price is another driving factor. E-books are much cheaper than paper books, which has contributed significantly to the dramatic increase in popularity of e-books.

Proponents of paper books may cite that paper-based books are pleasing to the eyes when compared to their electronic counterpart. While this may have been true in the early days of e-book reader technology, but it is no longer the case. Significant progress has been made in the technology leading to the development of e-book reader that no longer strain eyes, and at the same time offer readers with customization such as contrast and brightness settings, font size, font type, colors, which all contribute to a pleasant reading experience.

To sum up, though paper based books may be preferred by some people, a vast number of people are using e-books. In my opinion, because e-books offer lots of advantages over paper books as discussed above, e-books are superior over the printed books.