Some people think placing advertisements in schools is a great resource for public schools that need additionally funding, but others think it exploits children by treating them as a captive audience for corporate sponsors.Choose which position you most a

No doubt advertising is an essential part of a business. But, whether or not advertising in schools should be allowed has been a contested topic. In this essay, I will discuss why schools may choose to allow advertising targeted at their students, but overall, I will support my case that advertising in school should be discouraged.

Some schools that might be struggling financially may benefit from allowing advertisements to its pupils. Such income will bolster their budgets. For example, a school can use the money to build better infrastructure, or add resources such as books and lab equipment that children can immediately benefit from. In short, advertising can be a regular income stream for financially challenged schools, which ensures their sustenance.

On the other hand, it should not be forgotten that children are a vulnerable group that can be exploited. Unlike adults, children are very much a learning class that likely doesn't have the capacity to make informed decisions. For example, if there is an advertisement for sugary drinks targeted to them, they may easily get influenced towards the products. They may not have the ability to analyze whether it poses any health hazard to them. In short, businesses can lure children into using their products which may not actually be good for them.

To recapitulate, I discussed that some schools with financial troubles may find it necessary to allow advertising to students as a means to boost up their income. But, I strongly believe that, students can be easily exploited or ill-treated by corporate through advertising, so it should never be encouraged.