When computers first appeared on the scene, it was thought they would make us more productive in providing goods and services, smarter and possibly happier. Skeptics claim that the opposite is true as computers have proved disappointing in terms of produc

With the advent of computers, people's expectations and excitement rapidly grew. Over the years as computer technology evolved and started affecting lives in many ways, it sparked a debate on whether the technology is assisting us to be more productive, smarter and happier. In this essay I will discuss some compelling arguments on why and how the technology has contributed to people's productivity and effectiveness, but, at the same time, has affected our happiness.

To begin with, computer technology has greatly helped the current generation to be more productive and smarter. For example, banks have opened online services over the internet, where people can open bank accounts, transfer funds or even deposit a check. This has helped bank to consequently save their costs since they can do more with less employees. Meanwhile, they are also able to ensure more satisfied customers because customers are able to save time and money by utilizing the efficient ways of doing things.

Conversely, along with the development of computer technology, the world has witnessed a flood of information in the internet. This has not only overwhelmed people, but also confused them because they are not able to distinguish right information from the misleading ones. People are spending just too much time on the internet, and thus have less time for their family. This has instilled a sense of inadequacy and unhappiness in people.

To sum up, computer technology offers many benefits to humankind. In my opinion, increasing people's productivity and boosting smartness are some of them. Additionally, I also believe that the decrease in people's happiness is caused by the repercussions of the technology.