A recent trend in the entertainment world is to adapt classic works of literature for either TV or the movies. One argument is that this is to everyone's benefit, as it introduces people to works they might otherwise never have experienced, while others s

Adapting literary works into movies and television series have become increasingly more common. While some people believe that this is beneficial to everyone, others think that such practice is hardly done successfully and should not be entertained. In this essay, I will discuss why such adaptations, despite some shortcomings, benefit people and society.

Translating literary works into television programs or movies brings such works into the limelight. There may be many outstanding literary works from the past that the current generation doesn't know about. A movie or a television program is an effective means to get the messages out of those works across to people. For example, I recently watched a movie name 'Bone Collector' which is based on a novel written in the 1950s and learned many things from that period, which otherwise, I would never have been able to experience. Stated briefly, such adaptations of literature into screens are highly beneficial to people.

On the other hand, some people doubt that such adoption is done in a correct way, so the originality of the work is not preserved. While this statement has some truth, it is not sufficient to argue that the adoption doesn't benefit society. How successfully a literary work translates into a screenplay depends on a lot of factors including quality of the script, acting skills and particularly the direction capability of a director. For example, the movie that won the best movie award recently at Oscars was actually based on a novel and it was so beautifully translated from the book into the movie that it became a huge success.

In conclusion, I discussed why the adoption of literary works into television programs and movies is useful to people. In my opinion, except for a few exceptions, most of those adoptions do capture the essence of the original work, and such adoptions should be promoted.