When computers first appeared on the scene, it was thought they would make us more productive in providing goods and services, smarter and possibly happier. Skeptics claim that the opposite is true as computers have proved disappointing in terms of produc

When computers became available to the general public for the first time, they brought a lot of excitement. As years have passed by, some people maintain that computers have made us more productive, smarter and happier than before. Alternatively, there are critics who oppose this view. In this essay, I will argue how the advent of computers have helped with our productivity and smartness at doing things, but at the same time, it has made us less happy.

Computers have definitely helped companies become more productive in providing better services and stay ahead of the competition. For instance, banks and financial institutions have adopted computer usage to the fullest. People can get the services such as opening a bank account and transferring funds online from anywhere that they have access to a computer. The usage of computer have made not only the service providers but also the customers more productive, since they can effectively and efficiently use their time.

On the other hand, with the adoption of computer technologies, people have become less happy. One reason could be that people have become busier than ever before. Companies expect its employees to yield more. This puts unnecessary pressure on them. Psychologically, people believe that they need to rush for everything. This happens at the expense of their peace and happiness. For instance, one recent study has showed that people one or two generation ago were happier than people today. In short, computer technology has affected our happiness.

To conclude, usage of computer technology has been rapidly increasing in every sectors. In my opinion, while they lead to better productivity and increased smartness, they have reduced the happiness level in people.