Large shopping malls are replacing small shopping malls. In your own experience, is it a positive trend?

The effect of large shopping malls replacing small shopping malls, which has always been debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of the dominating status of leading retailers has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on our society in recent years. It can be agreed that these big shopping malls play a vital role, though the importance of small shops cannot be ignored. This essay will elaborate how Large retailers could contribute to the price transparency and how small malls can also contribute to people’s wellbeing, and thus lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why larger shopping malls should replace or purchase small malls, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that leading retailing moguls could set a benchmark of the merchandises’ prices which makes the price more transparent for customers. As an illustration, research has invariably revealed that the price of a specific merchandise is much more divergent among different regions 10 years ago compared with today. Furthermore, the fierce competition among big shopping malls could finally benefit consumers through a form of price war. Therefore, leading retailers’ domination in beneficial for consumers in terms of price.

Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that the convenience that small shops brought is also significant as there are innumerable reasons for that but the most salient one is that small malls are always located in rural or remote areas where big malls have not been pervasive. For instance, people live in rural areas 30 miles away from the city could easily purchase the fresh fruits without driving cars with the existence of small shops. Thus, people’s living habit must change negatively if all small shops vanished.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the impact of replacing small shops with large malls is prominent, although the approachability of small shops should not be overlooked.