"For less developed countries, disadvantages in tourism are greater than advantages". Discuss, give your opinion and examples.

The importance of disadvantages in tourism are greater than advantages for less developed countries was always a debatable topic. Many people argue that tourism has many disadvantages for under developed countries. It is completely agreed that there are lot of challenges and problems for under developed nations. The following essay would further elaborate why tourism is detriment in less successful countries and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

To begin with, it is said that many underdeveloped countries are high risk for tourists. This is apparent since last few decades. For example, in Bangladesh a tourist from Japan and another from Italy were shot dead by the Islamic terrorist State group. This shows that underdeveloped countries are not safe as they lack security measures. Thus, in such type of countries tourist industry has disadvantages.

Furthermore, there are aspects of tourism that may harmful to a country. For instance, a country may suffer from the loss of their own traditional culture. This is caused by a people in a country changing their lifestyle, customs and language in order to serve effectively the visitors. In addition, tourists often carry expensive objects like camera, smart phones and electrical gadgets and are unaware of surroundings, they make good targets for theft. Crime also increases as a result of the increases in drugs and prostitution.

According to the arguments aforementioned, one can reach out to point that tourism in under developed have many disadvantages. In a nutshell, less developed tourism tarnishes the countries reputation.