The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books and they shouldn't waste therir limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and Dvd's. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Public libraries have played an important role in education and gaining knowledge of an individual. With the augment in technology many libraries have installed hi-tech media in their premises. However, some people opine that they shouldn’t waste their resources and space on these things, as their main purpose is to offer books. I strongly disagree with this statement. This essay will elaborate on viewpoints and hence lead to a reasoned conclusion.

There is a myriad of arguments in favor of my stance. The most preponderant one is that, providing videos and DVD’s in library can actually help people to grasp the information more precisely. It is quite clear that the visuals can deliver information more easily and faster than reading. For example, a video version of a book can be more interesting and easier to understand than to read whole book. Therefore these technologies can eventually increase the value and demand of libraries.

Another key justification for upholding this notion is that computer software like e-book is quite popular among people. Not only, large numbers of books are available in single device, but also an individual can easily choose from them and can save the lot of time. Nevertheless, to say these technologies are of immense value for readers and library in present era.

In view of arguments outlined above it can be concluded that including these technologies in library is not wastage of resources, as it provides colossal of advantages. Therefore, they are extremely important and hence cannot be ignored.