• In many countries, children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. What are your opinions on this issue?

Recently, children’s engaging in paid work has sparked an ongoing controversy, which inevitably leads to a moot question “is it completely wrong?”. Whereas it is a widely held view that it is a valuable work experience, I will discuss controversial aspects of that throughout this essay.

From the socioeconomic standpoint, to be an income earner as a child are bound up inextricably with personal development, which indicates they lead to both interpersonal and social competence. As a well-known example, a longitudinal study conducted by eminent scientists in 2014 demonstrates the relationship between financial support to the family and a sense of responsibility as well as an exponential increase in practical skills. Researchers, nevertheless, paid heed to poverty, discrimination, and fatherless families alike. Consequently, my empirical evidence presented thus far supports the contention that the likelihood of becoming socially mature is correlated positively with not only economic attainment in life but also social development.

Within the realm of children rights, without the slightest doubt, having paid job attributes to a crime against children, in that it would come down to maltreated, abused, and abandoned adolescents. A salient example of such attribution is sexual harassment, which is a cause for concern since it was mistaken to take educational training for granted. Had there been a paradigm shift earlier, scholars might have had the opportunity to pinpoint psychological problems. Besides, this criterion is an indispensable part of modern lifestyle. Hence, it is reasonable to infer the pivotal role of the International Conventions on Human Rights.

To conclude, as for myself, as the saying goes “all’s well that ends well,” after analyzing what elaborated above, I firmly believe that the disadvantages of working children are of more significance. However, with the benefit of hindsight, we conceive the more we research, the further we discover.