• In many countries, children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. What are your opinions on this issu

The scenario of children participating in a part-time job has become more prevalent over the recent years. While certain people believe it is appropriate for children, others reckon it as essential experience for learning and being responsible. From my perspective, there are merits and demerits in both sides, I opine that both view should be considered necessary.

Children who engage in part-time work may gain valueless experience which their peers and classmates may not acquire at school. In terms of the interpersonal skills, children are created with more opportunity to communicate and interact with the customer in the workplace. The social capability which the children acquire may pave the way for the future vocational career. Furthermore, children become more mature in terms of the mentality. To demonstrate, various difficulties which the children may encounter in the workplace often frustrate children’s mind. It is an adequate chance to polish their mentality. However, engaging in part-time job may render the children to fall behind in their academic study.

Apart from children involving in part-time work, some people firmly opine that children should fully commit in their academic study rather than taking a part-time job. This is often due to the fact that the academic capability is essential to children. One salient example of this is the future work, without the professional knowledge which imparted by school, people are incompetent to have satisfying performance in their future work. Nevertheless, children may not acquire the competence which is indispensable in the future work. Specifically, children are often given scarce opportunity to interact and communicate with others at school.

As argued above, there are pros and cons in both sides. However, to strike a balance of both sides will ultimately benefit the children.