In many modern societies, grandchildren rarely spend any quality time with their grandparents.

What do you think are the consequences of this?

Since the beginning of the 21st century, people have changed their lifestyle, where most of them now live in big cities. Some people believe that these movements will prevent grandparents from spending time with their grandchildren, so they assume this will suppress transferring traditions and habits from the upper generation to the lower generation, while others argue that this will improve people characters. This essay will discuss the consequences of stopping the meeting between the grandchildren and their grandparents.

Firstly, the major consequence of this phenomenon is the heritage will not move to the following generation. Some families have some special traditions which present the symbols of their families. For example, in Jordan, due to lack of meeting between the grandparents and the grandchildren, the youth do not speak the language of their grandparents. Therefore, it this will lead to losing the cultures and heritages of some families.

On the other hand, stop meeting between grandchildren and their grandparent will lead to enhancing some characters. Grandchildren will improve their characters based on their surroundings rather than their traditions. For example, grandchildren in Jordan now they learn new habits which are suitable for their environment. Thus, preventing the meeting between grandparents and grandchildren will have a good consequence.

In conclusion, spending little time with grandparents could have either a positive or a negative consequence. In my opinion, I believe that heritages and traditions are very important.