The mass media including TV, Radio and newspaper influence our society and shape our opinions and characters. What is your opinion?

Mass media including TV, Radio and newspaper have an impressive impact and reach across the globe. It is argued that mass media has a strong influence in shaping thoughts and behaviour of people using its powerful audio and visual content. The following discussion analyzes how mass media helps spread awareness on health issues and its usefulness as an educational tool.

Television, newspaper and radio are a source of knowledge, information and news. Programs on TV and radio and publications in newspapers often carry information pertaining to various health issues and their remedies. For example, a television show on harmful effects of smoking and drug abuse can help influence the minds of the audience and may inspire them to give up these harmful habits and become a better person.It is evident, therefore, that mass media can help bring about a positive change in the lives of people.

Further, a number of television programs and newspaper articles cover new research and development on a variety of subjects. For example, people sitting in remote corners of the globe can learn more about new advancements in the automobile industry by watching a television program on the subject. Armed with new knowledge people can make better decisions and actions. It is clear from the above discussion that mass media can shape our opinion on various topics.

In conclusion, television, radio and newspaper not only make people aware of health issues but also increase their knowledge of current research and developments. The foregoing discussion corroborates the view that mass media has a significant influence on our society and help shape our opinions and characters. It is expected that mass media will continue to be a tool to spread knowledge and bring about a positive change in people’s life.